LM Media Logo
Loading
  • The Voice of Sokurov

The Voice of Sukorov (2014)

Alexander Sokurov (born 1951) is one of the most important Russian directors and screenplay writers of his time. Based on six interviews shot at six different locations in St. Petersburg, the documentary "The Voice of Sokurov" explores the cinematic world and life perspectives of the director through his personality and work. The film also touches on topics such as the social significance of cinema as well as the overreaching purpose of art and artists.

Production

Genre: Documentary
Written by: Leena Kilpeläinen
Director: Leena Kilpeläinen
Production: Revolver Film Ou, LM Media GmbH, Illume Oy
Producer: Merja Ritola
Executive Producer: Pertti Veijalainen
Co-Producers: Karin Reinberg, Anastasia Pavlovich
Distribution: Films Boutique

Festivals

Locarno International Film Festivsl
Since 1946 one of the most important festivals in Europe known to set new trends in the film industry.

Helsinki International Film Festival
The aim of Finland’s biggest film festival is to promote the artistry of filmmaking alongside inventive, controversial and visually stunning new films.

Hong Kong International Film Festival
One of the Asia‘s oldest and most reputable platforms for filmmakers, film professionals and filmgoers from all over the world.

Alexander Sokurov schwarz weiss
Voice of Sokurov Dreh

Opinions On The Film

“(...) It is magnificent to see and hear Sokurov – a wise, placid and self-taught man – talk about his past and the present state of Russia in the new, excellent documentary by Leena Kilpeläinen. The atmospheric, intense and even spiritual samples of the director’s production supplement the whole, turning it into a polyphones dialogue between the artist, his works, the Motherland, and history.“
Lauri Timonen
Midnight Sun Film Festival
“There is an atmosphere of confidence in this documentary. Sokurov gives an account of his lifelong battle for the integrity of his art. The interview footage is eloquent, and the many illuminating clips have been selected with a good sense of judgment. This is an excellent introduction into the films of Sokurov, and it makes me want to see or revisit his films. I have seen many but not all.“
Antti Alanen
Film Programmer at National Audiovisual Institute (Finland)

LM Media Logo
Loading
  • The Voice of Sokurov

The Voice of Sukorov (2014)

Alexander Sokurov (geb. 1951) ist einer der bedeutendsten russischen Regisseure und Drehbuchautoren seiner Zeit. Basierend auf sechs Interviews gedreht an sechs unterschiedlichen Standorten in St. Petersburg erforscht der Dokumentarfilm „The Voice of Sokurov“ die Filmwelt und Lebensperspektiven des Regisseurs durch seine Persönlichkeit und Arbeit. Der Film berührt ebenfalls Themen wie die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung des Kinos sowie die Übervorteilung von Kunst und Künstlern.

Produktion

Genre: Dokumentation
Drehbuch: Leena Kilpeläinen
Regie: Leena Kilpeläinen
Produktion: Revolver Film Ou, LM Media GmbH, Illume Oy
Produzenten: Merja Ritola
Exekutive Produzenten: Pertti Veijalainen
Co-Produzenten: Karin Reinberg, Anastasia Pavlovich
Vertrieb: Films Boutique

Festivals

  • Locarno International Film Festival
    Seit 1946 einer der bedeutendsten Festivals in Europa und dafür bekannt, dass hier neue Trends in der Filmindustrie gesetzt werden.

  • Helsinki International Film Festival
    Ziel des finnischen Filmfestivals ist es, die Kunst des Films neben erfinderischen, umstrittenen und visuell beeindruckenden neuen Filmen zu fördern.

  • Hong Kong International Film Festival
    Asiens älteste und renommierteste Plattform für Filmemacher, Filmprofis und Filmgänger aus aller Welt.

Alexander Sokurov schwarz weiss
Voice of Sokurov Dreh

Stimmen zum Film

“(...) Es ist großartig Sokurov, einen klugen, ruhigen Mann und Autodidaktiker, über die Vergangenheit und Gegenwart Russlands in der neuen, hervorragenden Dokumentation von Leena Kilpeläinen zu sehen und zu hören. Die atmosphärischen, intensiven und sogar spirituellen Muster der Regisseurin ergänzen das Ganze und verwandeln es in einen polyphonen Dialog zwischen dem Künstler, seinen Werken, der Heimat und der Geschichte."
Lauri Timonen
Midnight Sun Film Festival
„Dieser Dokumentarfilm schafft eine vertrauensvolle Atmosphäre. Sokurov berichtet über seinen lebenslangen Kampf um die Integrität seiner Kunst. Das Interview-Material ist eloquent, und die vielen leuchtenden Clips wurden mit einem guten Urteilsvermögen ausgewählt. Dies ist eine ausgezeichnete Einführung in die Filme von Sokurov, die Lust macht, seine Filme zu sehen oder erneut zu besuchen.“
Antti Alanen
Filmproduzent am Nationalen Audiovisuellen Institut in Finnland